THE UNIVERSITY OF HOUSTON, HOUSTON, TX 77204-4004, USA, Phone no: 713-743-9241,
e-mail :


  • Fourteen awards including two from the prestigious Rubber Division, American Chemical Society (first Asian to have received these), Commonwealth Award,U.K., the TCP award, The British Council, SPE International Education Award, USA,  JSPS Award, Japan etc.
  • More than five hundred research papers in the international reviewed journals
  • Seven books published from USA/UK  and one co-authored book under publication
  • Thirty-six book chapters in international books
  • Member of the Editorial Board of the eight  International research journals
  • Forty-seven Ph.D. students guided and seven under the guidance
  • More than fifty projects brought to the institute
  • Twenty four technologies transferred to the industry including the ones for trackpad & rubberized road wheel for MBT Arjun Tank
  • Major assignment in IIT Kharagpur: Dean (Sponsored Research & Industrial Consultancy) and Head, Rubber Technology Centre
  • Eighteen patents granted, including a German, three Japanese and two US Patents
  • More than fifty invited lectures delivered abroad
  • Co-editor of the special issue of Polymer and Composite Characterization of the Journal of Macromolecular Science (USA)
  • Four years of Post-Doctoral experience in the best Polymer Institute in the World
  • Fellow of the Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE)
  • Fellow of the Indian National Science Academy (INSA)
  • INAE Chair Professor, 2017-2019
  • Professor of Eminence, Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur
  • Former Director, Indian Institute of Technology, Patna
  • Guest Editor, Frontiers issue 2019, Rubber Chemistry and Technology
  • Visiting Professor, Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland, USA, 2017
  • Distinguished Visitor Award, University of  Auckland, NZ, 2019
  • Research Professor, Department of Chemical and Biochemical Engineering, the University of Houston, Houston, USA
  • Distinguished Alumnus Award, IIT Kharagpur, 2019
  • Bhowmick Earns Innovation Award From Polymer Processing Society                                                                                                                                                             Anil Bhowmick, Ph.D., a Research Professor in the William A. Brookshire Department of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering at the Cullen College of Engineering, is the recipient of the 2021 James L. White Innovation Award from the Polymer Processing Society. The award will be presented to Bhowmick at the PPS-36 International Conference in Montreal, Canada, which runs from Sept. 26 through Sept. 30, 2021.
  • Bhowmick Honored With 2022 Melvin Mooney Award From ACS                                                                                                                                                                    The award, from the American Chemical Society’s Rubber Division and sponsored by Lion Elastomers, honors someone who has exhibited exceptional technical competency by making significant and repeated contributions to rubber science and technology. He will be recognized at the Spring Technical Meeting, which takes place April 25 to April 28, 2022, in Warrensville Heights, Ohio.
©2015, Prof. Anil K. Bhowmick. All rights reserved